SDLC Software Development Life Cycle

The traditional method has worked wonders in the past, but it relies on eradicating the bugs and issues in the end. Developed by Dr. Harlan Mills, the Cleanroom Software Engineering method is all about performing quality assurance at every phase of the development process. The idea here is to prevent bugs from happening by testing in the initial stage rather than removing the bugs at the final stages. In addition, it removes the dependency of the team on expensive testing processes. Software is also divided into several categories, but the most significant parts of every software development lifecycle are software development and software testing.

  • Throughout the SDLC, detailed documentation is created and maintained.
  • Each iteration of the Spiral methodology begins with predicting potential risks and the best way to avoid or mitigate them.
  • It will help both parties to avoid pain and frustration in the future.
  • In the Scrum framework, for example, one could say a single user story goes through all the phases of the SDLC within a two-week sprint.
  • They check whether an app performs and behaves as expected via functional testing.
  • A lot of small phases might need comprehensive documentation support.

In the rest of this article, you’ll find a detailed description of each SDLC model as well as the specific aspects of their usage. Planning is the crucial step in everything and so as in software development. In this same stage, requirement analysis is also performed by the developers of the organization.


Among these, another software development process has been established in open source. The adoption of these best practices known and established processes within the confines of a company is called inner source. Design documents typically include functional hierarchy diagrams, screen layouts, business rules, process diagrams, pseudo-code, and a complete data model with a data dictionary.

software life cycle models types

This method needs less time, effort, and cost of the whole process of development as all the issues are fixed while the product is being made. The types of prototyping currently available are Rapid, Incremental, Evolutionary, and Extreme. The life cycle model involves each of these activities in the same order in which they are performed and it also takes special take care of the flow in which each activity will be carried out. This flow that is defined in the model cannot be broken while developing the software. The Rational Unified Process is also a combination of linear and iterative frameworks.

Type #10: Extreme Programming (XP) –

According to this model, testing is done hierarchically and every stage has a certain deliverable. This SDLC model typically entails some customer involvement because of the possible need in small requirements amendments during the development process. The most important distinction between the two SDLC methodologies lies in terms of prioritizing customer satisfaction. The Agile model makes customer satisfaction a priority from the very beginning. Consequently, the project teams involved respond instantly to stakeholder feedback throughout the SDLC procedure.

software life cycle models types

The V-shaped model doesn’t produce an early-stage software prototype. V-shaped SDLC Model is a modification of the classic Waterfall approach in which testing occurs at each development phase. With the iterative method, you get an early working prototype, which helps to minimize the cost of bug fixing.

Software Requirement

RAD or Rapid Application Development process is an adoption of the waterfall model; it targets developing software in a short period. The RAD model is based on the concept that a better system can be developed in lesser time by using focus groups to gather system requirements. Linear ordering of activities has some significant consequences. First, to identify the end of a phase and the beginning of the next, some certification techniques have to be employed at the end of each step. The “Big Bang” approach to software design focuses primarily on all resources and aspects of a software project, with little to no pre-planning.

As a rule, there are one or two developers working on the project. It may seem chaotic, but it works for small projects by saving time, energy, and cost on the initial stages. Agile and Waterfall SDLC are the two polarized types of software development life cycle. Some, but not all development life cycle models fall under the umbrella of the Waterfall system development methodology, while the others correspond with the Agile SDLC model. Without using an exact life cycle model, the development of a software product would not be in a systematic and disciplined manner.


New code is only written by the developers when a previous automated test is failed. The model is divided into five different phases; Business modeling, data modeling, process modeling, application generation, and testing and turnover. The Iterative model can be thought of as a “multi-waterfall” cycle. Each iteration passes through a series of phases, so after each cycle you will get working software. An extension of the waterfall model, this SDLC methodology tests at each stage of development.

software life cycle models types

However, unlike traditional software development that addresses security as a separate stage, SDLC addresses security every step of the way through DevSecOps practices. Developers are now responsible for more and more steps of the entire development process. This might come from a lightweight framework such as scrum or a traditional heavyweight framework such as the software development lifecycle . Instead of starting a project with clearly defined requirements, you apply a few software requirements, then test, estimate, and point out more requirements. A new version of the software is developed at every stage or repetition. The hazardous parts of the software development life cycle can be done more closely.

Type #15: Cleanroom Software Engineering –

The iterations (‘sprints’) are usually 2-4 weeks long, and they are preceded with thorough planning and previous sprint assessment. No changes are allowed after the sprint activities have been defined. They can be involved in the exploration and review stages of each cycle. At the development stage, the customer’s amendments are not acceptable. Each phase or iteration in this model produces a newer, better version of the software under development. A rinse and repeat approach is followed until the final software comes into shape.

software life cycle models types

If the project starts to slip, emphasis is on reducing requirements to fit the timebox, not in increasing the deadline. A basic understanding of the fundamental business problem is necessary to avoid solving the wrong problems, but this is true for all software methodologies. The client is involved throughout the development process, which increases the likelihood of client acceptance of the final implementation. Software prototyping is about creating prototypes, i.e. incomplete versions of the software program being developed. After training, systems engineers and developers transition the system to its production environment.

Disadvantages of the prototype

Currently, the SDLC is not as popular as before, especially with the rise of agile models and mindsets. However, having information about all those frameworks will allow product managers and product teams to build better processes that generate better results. The product manager/end user in this phase is responsible for evaluating the system software, which is the output of the previous phases. The evaluation is done before the project proceeds to the next planned spiral cycle. After passing all processes of the testing phase, the product is ready to release.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *